Last year was such an amazing year for us here at Bodhi Tree Spa. So much so, I wanted to write about it. Not only was 2018 our 2nd full year in operation, (we opened our doors in May 2016) but it was also the year we gathered together our ‘loyal tribe’ to full complement. In other words, we’re now fully booked every single day! As a businesswoman that is such an achievement, but for our guests, we wanted to offer more. And so great news – as of 10th March 2019, we will be open on alternate Sundays. For us, it’s all about our clients and so this little review is for you, to let you know what we’ve been up to last year, and some exciting things on the horizon too.

 

A bit about our Spa first

For those of you who don’t know, Bodhi Tree Spa is a Day Spa and Hair Salon located in Chalfont Dene, in Chalfont St Peter, Buckinghamshire. We offer a friendly, intimate experience combined with 5-star luxury. Spa day guests are welcome to use the indoor heated pool, sauna and fitness studio. We also have a fine dining restaurant and bistro, and beautiful grounds too.

Influenced by the East, we believe in your overall well being. Our motto is ‘Beauty for the Mind, Body & Soul’, which our treatments reflect. Scheduling regular ‘me time’ contributes to a holistic approach to your health and we support you in that. Our small team of experienced beauty therapists are a warm and friendly, ready to greet you the second you step inside. Our day spa has two treatment rooms with showers and one room has wheelchair access. We also have a hair salon and nail bar on site.

To help you regain your equilibrium, we offer a wide range of treatments. This includes Men’s Grooming and the full range of ELEMIS facials, including the Biotec advanced facial. To help destress or invigorate you, we offer reflexology, reiki and six specialised massages including Thai foot massage. A spa wouldn’t be a spa without offering a range of sublime Spa Packages to make you feel truly special.

For us, beauty is on both the inside and the outside and that is why you will never feel rushed at Bodhi Tree Spa. You will find peace, friendliness and relaxation as soon as you walk in. But I digress, here is our fabulous review of 2018.

Top Day Spa for Bucks on Trip Advisor

We are all feeling oh so humble. The feedback we’ve received both in person and online has been amazing! It makes all our hard work feel so worthwhile. Our main focus will always be to ensure the guest experience is memorable for all the right reasons.  That’s why your feedback is so important. Bodhi Tree Spa have a FaceBook score of 4.9 from 81 reviews and on TripAdvisor, 95% of clients gave us a 5-star rating. This is a fantastic score! We are also the number 1 thing to do in Chalfont St Peter and in the top 3 best spas and wellness centres in Buckinghamshire too.

Here are just a few of the heartwarming comments we have received that really touched us.

Best ever spa day

“Today my daughter and I experienced our best ever spa day, and we have both been on a few. From the first step through the doors, we felt totally at ease, everyone was friendly and explained what was going to happen during our day. We were shown around, had a drink and then changed and went into the pool and sauna. It was wonderful we had the pool to ourselves for over an hour. Everywhere was spotless and tranquil. After a gorgeous lunch we chilled out before our treatments. Both the therapists were professional and lovely. My daughter had a mum-to-be treatment and a facial. and I had a wrap and hot stone massage, it was a shame it had to end! We are both de-stressed and relaxed. We had a brilliant day thank you to everyone, we will be back…”

Treated Like a Princess

Rohita Kopf Said, “Great experience, treated like a princess – pool area to ourselves – 5* standards and the massage and facial was amazing. We can’t wait to come back – what a lovely treat.” (Feb 24th 2018)

Massive thank you to Carla and the Team

Anthony Mannion said, ‘A massive thank you to Carla and the team for a great relaxing experience. From the minute you arrive, you are welcomed and the relaxation begins. I can honestly say we will be returning as we both enjoyed our time here and to top it off the lunch in the Lytton restaurant is fantastic.” (Feb 25th 2018)

Just what the doctor ordered!

“After a busy few months, my friend and I decided we needed a spa break as well as important chit chat time! The Bodhi Tree Spa ticked both those boxes. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel very welcome. We were given our robes, taken poolside (which had stunning views and the fact that we had the pool to ourselves virtually the whole time just added to the experience), offered a hot drink and advised how our day would run. And it was wonderful, the Body Meltdown was bliss (I fell asleep during the massage), and Carla’s advice in terms of products for skin care after my facial confirmed that we had been in expert hands. The day was topped off by a lovely lunch at the Lytton. Thanks all for a lovely day – I’ll be back!”

 

FEBRUARY: Girl Tribe Host

In 2017 I became a member of The Girl Tribe Gang which is an award-winning network of women entrepreneurs or aspiring entrepreneurs. It’s an ecosystem of support of like-minded women with almost 40 Tribes across the UK. Founder, Catherine Asta Labbett, is an award-winning Psychotherapist. She thought that if a women’s network could help to reduce even a tiny bit of isolation solo business owners often feel, then that’s going to have a positive effect on overall health, emotional, mental well-being and success. We love that ethos!

On 6th February, the Girl Tribe Gang Beaconsfield asked me to host the monthly meetup at The Bodhi Tree Spa. Needless to say, I jumped at the chance! Alex from The Bucks Insider shared her expertise on Social Media Strategy. It was a delight to welcome Claire from Red Poppy Portraits who delivered her insight on a personal branding overview. The evening drew to an inspiring close with the ‘Power Hour’. Giving like-minded ladies the opportunity to chat with other female entrepreneurs. 

APRIL: Finalists for Muddy Stilettos Awards

Muddy Stilettos is the ultimate ‘urban guide to the countryside’ covering 20 counties. It was founded by Hero Brown, a former journalist for the Independent on Sunday, The Observer, Red, Marie Claire and Elle. Muddy Stilettos is for smart, fun-loving women living outside London. Amongst other things it covers where to find the very best in spas, food, walks, boutiques, day trips, hotels, interiors and events.

The Muddy Awards are run as a good-natured, positive celebration of the most brilliant, unique and unmissable businesses across the Muddy counties in 24 lifestyle categories, showing how much we all appreciate independence and creativity. Bodhi Tree Spa were in the finals for the Muddy Stilettos Awards in 2017 and 2018 for Best Spa in Bucks and Oxon. We’re hoping for a win in 2019! It might be a David and Goliath achievement since the epic Stoke Park has taken home the prize since the awards began…..

 

MAY: Speaker at BP Collins Wellbeing Evening Event

BP Collins is a progressive law firm in Gerrards Cross with more than 120 employees. On 2nd May 2018, they hosted their first ‘Wellbeing’ evening, which centred around social, mental and physical health. I (Carla) was lucky enough to be invited as a guest speaker. My presentation focused on the huge benefits of ‘me time’ and the practice of mindfulness. Something I try to incorporate into my everyday life. Two of my amazing therapists, Emma & Trina, were on hand to help. Letting the guests experience the benefits of massage with taster sessions.

Senior Partner, Simon Deans, opened the event and he was a lovely person to meet. Olympic Gold medallist Adrian Moorhouse was another guest speaker, who discussed mindfulness and the psychology of wellbeing. Nutrition and lifestyle coach Johanne O’Dowd, founder of Health with Food, spoke about the healing power of food which helped her to recover from breast cancer. Guinot and Neal’s Yard Remedies also attended with pop-ups for the guests.

It was a fantastic night and it was an amazing opportunity to share my knowledge of wellness. I look forward to working with BP Collins again.

 

Speakers at BPC Wellbeing Event 2018. Carla Pasco Jones, Owner of Bodhi Tree Spa, second from right.

MAY: ELEMIS Superfood Nutrition Event

We love collaborating with fellow wellness experts and this event was amazing for that. On 24th May we hosted a great event for our clients. 

We invited a celebrity Guest Speaker Jenna Hope, a nutritionist consultant to come and meet our clients. She works with leading food brands, restaurants, spas and clinics and her media appearances include: ITV News, Sky News, Women’s Health, Cosmopolitan magazine, Harper’s Bazaar, Healthy magazine, The Daily Express, Red magazine and more.

Jenna has been fascinated by the way in which food affects the body, the mind and the soul, and has a passion for nutrition, exercise and living a healthy lifestyle. Jenna shared how nutrition can affect long term skin health, her top tips for how to achieve a natural healthy glow, incorporating good nutrition into your busy lifestyles and she also busted some of those common nutrition myths.

I also talked about ‘feeding your skin from the inside out’ which covered demonstrating the ELEMIS Superfoods range which is formulated with plant-based, nutrient-dense superfoods to replenish skin for a healthy, outdoor-fresh glow. Interestingly many of the ingredients in the Elemis Superfoods Range are also foods Jenna discussed. I also took a deep dive into wellness, mindfulness, nutrition and spa treatments.

 

OCTOBER: New Team Members!

In October we welcomed Jana and Jo onto the team. Jo is our lovely receptionist and Jana is a highly experienced therapist who has become a firm favourite with our clients. It’s been an amazing year and that’s only been possible due to the amazing team here at Bodhi Tree Spa – Parm, Lauren, Sam, Emma, Trina, Jana, Sarah, Jo, Hannah and Tia. And also my mum and the other amazing people behind the scenes who make it happen.

DECEMBER: Supporting Local Charities

Many of you may have spotted us at the Beaconsfield Festival of Lights this year raising money for Amersham based charity Kids Direct, who support street children in Latin America. We were happy to help and to give a big shout out to the good causes I support as a small business owner.

Being a fan of wellness and selfcare, it is important that my team feel happy and healthy in their work. They put an enormous amount of energy into their clients and each and every treatment. When we are approached by local charities or individuals to donate a spa package or massage treatment as a raffle prize, we know we can’t donate hundreds of free spa days a year. And so together we assess how much we can do, and pick as many as we can to donate. For instance, we donated a spa day for local Chalfont based charity, Liberty’s Legacy set up in memory of Liberty who died in October 2017 to bone cancer. We also supported Dan Seagrove who ran the London Marathon last year on behalf of the National Autistic Society.

If you are holding a raffle at a local event to raise money or funding for a charity or cause please do get in touch via pamperme@bodhitreespa.co.uk. We cannot support everybody but in 2019 we aim to offer one spa day per month and your charity could be in with a chance of being selected.

DECEMBER: Nominated for English Hair and Beauty Awards

 

We’re so delighted to have been nominated and to have made the finals for two awards at English Hair & Beauty Awards ceremony which will be held on March 17th. Being a finalist in the English Hair & Beauty Awards is a big honour and a sign that our focus on the natural and holistic nature of wellbeing is appreciated by our clients. So thank you to all our clients! We’ve made the finals for:

  • Spa of the Year
  • Masseuse of the Year for therapist Trina Collins

The awards’ aim is to showcase excellent professionals that operate within the English hair and beauty industry, whose work remains often overshadowed. The competition is really tough this year and we feel very proud of ourselves for being shortlisted.

The glitzy event shows appreciation for those in the hair and beauty industry; from salons to spas, to the talented individuals who work within them. The awards provide a platform to thank those in the beauty industry, letting them know that their good work doesn’t go unnoticed. The annual event, now in its eighth year will take place on 17 March, 2019. It’s run by Creative Oceanic who are at the forefront of delivering unique events in nine different cities across the UK, Ireland and Canada.

We’re so proud of Trina, our masseuse specialist who has been nominated for her specialist massage work including deep tissue, pregnancy, hot stone and Indian head massage and Thai yoga and foot massages.

Buckinghamshire Living Feature

Bodhi Tree Spa were featured in January’s edition of Buckinghamshire Living Magazine about my concept on the Spa and some of the amazing treatments we do! With more than 36,000 circulation and 12,000 readers, we were thrilled at the coverage and so happy to have Sandra Carter from Living Magazine come and visit us, experience some treatments and the lovely facilities here too.

Exciting times ahead

We are so excited for what the rest of 2019 has to bring. Next up is our ELEMIS BIOTEC Launch Event on 6th March which is free for all our clients to attend. And as of 10th March you will find us open on alternate Sundays which is going to be handy for many of you. I’m truly honoured to be running this lovely Spa. It’s the first time I’ve ever owned and operated a business, and as an experienced Beauty Therapist myself, this is a dream come true. I can’t believe we have come so far since we opened our doors in May 2016. Thank you to everyone, best wishes, Carla xoxo.